highlands and islands


The University of the Highlands and Islands comprises 13 colleges and research institutions.

  • Argyll College UHI
  • Highland Theological College UHI
  • Inverness College UHI
  • Lews Castle College UHI
  • Moray College UHI
  • NAFC Marine Centre UHI
  • North Highland College UHI
  • Orkney College UHI
  • Perth College UHI
  • Sabhal Mòr Ostaig UHI
  • Scottish Association for Marine Science UHI
  • Shetland College UHI
  • West Highland College UHI

UHI is the only university based in the Highlands and Islands of Scotland and is a little different – they offer the choice of studying at one of 13 colleges and research centres, over 70 local learning centres or online from wherever you are.  The University of the Highlands and Islands is the United Kingdom’s leading integrated university  encompassing both further and higher education. It’s not a traditional university.

They have 40,000 students at the heart of their university partnership and they are measured by their success. Their curriculum portfolio across both further and higher education is designed to meet current and future local and regional needs and to attract other students to the Highlands and Islands to study.

Living in the Highlands and Islands

The Highlands and Islands of Scotland is the most northerly region in the United Kingdom, and one of the most diverse.

The University of the Highlands and Islands gives you the choice of studying in one of the larger urban centres of the region, such as Perth, Inverness or Elgin, or in one of the smaller towns or island communities, including the Western and Northern Isles.

Snow and water-based sports, mountaineering, horse riding and mountain biking are just some of the hobbies you can indulge in or take up, whilst living and studying here.